Market to Baking

This morning Steph and I headed to the Evergreen Brickworks Farmers Market, our favourite Saturday pastime.

We dropped Karim off to go sailing first, so by the time we got there we were ravenous. We needed coffee and breaky. Beignets + Breakfast Egg Sandwich + Coffee made us very very happy.

We got 2 Apple Beignet’s. Light, fluffy, cinnamony, and some oh so delish pieces of fried goodness… but after finishing our stellar sandwiches we only had room to split 1 of the beignets. Bah-hum-bug! Clearly our eyes were bigger than our stomaches (hate it when that happens!).

Tonight Steph and Karim are out and about, so I figured there was no better time to put my baking skills to use! I haven’t baked in a LONG TIME (stupid school got in the way).

Tonight, I had a hard time deciding what to make!

Chewy Chocolate Chunk Cookies with Salty Almonds and Gooey Marshmallows?

or maybe

Oatmeal Raisin Banana Muffins?

how about Cheer Up Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies?

these Vegan Brownies looked awesome too..

But then I decided Gina’s Vegan Almond Butter Cookies tickled my fancy the most!

Dry Ingredients

Wet Into Dry

SO slight confession. I may have tested the wet ingredients while they were beautifully mixed up. I could would drizzle this over some ice cream and be REALLY satisfied. mmmmm.. dangerous stuff I tell ya!

Ready for the oven!

Look at how perfect they are!

Shoot, picture is a little blurry, but nevertheless, they are sooo yummy! MAKE THEM.

Here’s the recipe:

Dry Ingredients

2 c. spelt flour

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 c. vegan chocolate chips

Wet Ingredients

1/2 c. raw almond butter

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

1/4c. canola oil

1 tsp molasses

3/4c. maple syrup

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350. In a large bowl, combine all dry ingredients except for the chocolate chips. Set aside. In a smaller bowl, combine all wet ingredients; once thoroughly mixed, add wet ingredients to dry ingredients. Mix to combine, and then add chocolate chips. Put parchment paper onto a baking sheet, form small ball shaped pieces of dough and place them onto the sheet. Lightly flatten them to look like cookies ;) Bake for 11 minutes; once cookies are baked and taken out of the oven, allow them to stay on the baking sheet for 1 minute before transferring them onto a cooling rack. ENJOY!

Instead of just having a cookie.. I thought, why not crumble the cookie over ice cream, add some slices of banana, and it eat like that?! yeahhhhhhhh!

All while reading this.

Just a light read right?? I might be a little crazy, but I found this bad boy on Steph’s book shelf and its SO interesting!! I love reading about nutrition and all that jazz. May take me a lifetime to skim read this, but no biggy :D

And I’ll leave you with an unreal video Steph just sent me. It’ll knock your socks off!

About Britta

I'm a 24 year runner & believer of living a simple life, willing to share a little bit of my life with the world. Born in Germany, raised in the interior of British Columbia, and now living in Vancouver, BC. Welcome to my everyday!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Baking, Chocolate, My Habits, Relax and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Market to Baking

  1. Amy says:

    Those cookies look amazing! Definitely on my to-make list! Also…that video??? He is crazyyyyyyyyy! So cool to watch though…kinda makes me want to do it…but not really haha!

    • Britta says:

      I know! I thought the same… totally would want to do it.. but if it came down to it, I would probably chicken out? maybe? haha DEF make those cookies tho! they are so yummy and chewy!

Leave a Reply

