Tuesday Confessions.

1. I absolutely adore Granville Island Market. Ashlee and I went there on Sunday before I had to go to work and it was magical. I could have spent hours there just people watching on a bench. Markets are like the arrivals area of the airport – full of happiness.

IMG_8024IMG_8044

2. When I am at the market, I look at couples, families, etc. and wonder what they are going to cook with all their groceries. Maybe they go to the park after or when to brunch before the market with family friends. It’s weird but that’s what I do and it makes me all warm and fuzzy.

IMG_8028IMG_8029IMG_8026

3. As much as I love running, I really want to start doing other things. Instead of running 5 days a week, I want to start running 2 or 3 and mix in some other activities as well. Which is why I went to a HIIT Callanetics Class at Kondi Fitness last night – I am beyond sore today but already signed up for a spin class at Cadence Vancouver….ow.

IMG_8052IMG_8046

4. Sometimes I debate if I am too “online.” With blogging, instagramming, tweeting.. and whatever else I keep thinking I share too much and sometimes think about quitting. I don’t want to live my life through a camera lens instead I want to be present and in the moment. And then I instagram something… oy vey. Maybe a little less will be better.

5. I’ve started to stop caring about certain things. Whether it’s people, or situations, or whatever. I used to chase people, cringe at awkward and annoying situations, try to change things, over-think things, but now I mostly just shrug things off when they happen. This past weekend something odd happened and it was literally a “wtf” moment, but instead of thinking all that much about it (like I normally would) I started laughing. People are funny is all I can say. And just as a side note: I still care about people! haha I’m not that careless and selfish.

470b40a6ffea900c9ae8b112ef54e163

6. I am obsessed with The Kinfolk Table Cookbook. It’s such a beautiful, elegant, and simple book. I flipped through it at Chapters this past weekend and it just warmed my heart. I captured a few of my favourite quotes and pictures. Also, family, if you reading this… I would definitely not be disappointed if this was wrapped up under the tree by the time Christmas rolls around ;)

IMG_8035IMG_8030IMG_8033

IMG_8032

7. I’m starting to really savour and enjoy food. HA, that sounds funny. You all know I love food, but I am starting to really enjoy it and not worry about what I am actually eating. Yes, I still strive to be healthy but I am savouring that latte, the crispiness of toasted bread, the flakiness of pastries, and the juiciness of a tomato salad. It cannot be more perfectly summed up as this Eat, Pray, Love quote:

“Let me ask you something…In all the years that you have undressed in front of a gentleman, has he ever asked you to leave? Has he ever walked out and left? No? It’s because he doesn’t care! He’s in a room with a naked girl – he’s just won the lottery! I am so tired of saying no. I’m tired of waking up in the morning and recalling every single thing I ate the day before, counting every calorie I consumed so I know just how much self loathing to take into the shower. I’m going for it. I have no interest in being obese, I’m just through with the guilt. So this is what I’m going to do: I’m going to finish this pizza, and then we are going to go watch the soccer game, and tomorrow we are going to go on a little date and buy ourselves some bigger jeans.”
- Julia Roberts, Eat Pray Love

Better yet, watch the clip. It’s wonderful.

8. I love real mail. It’s almost a lost art these days I think. When was the last time you wrote and mailed a letter? Such a beautiful thing and so personal. Along with phone calls, I miss phone calls. Texting is so easy and impersonal. Call me if there is something important, and even if its not important – call me anyways, I probably will like the sound of your voice. And no, it’s no weird.

9. I bought $7 spelt bread at Granville on Monday (I live close so I can go often, even just to stroll). So yes, $7 – but my lanta is it good. Crunchy when toasted, I adore crunchy bread, with jam. OH MY.

IMG_8055

10. Watch THIS VIDEO of texting and dating. It’s hilarious and so true. Jillian shared it and now I have to.

About Britta

I'm a 24 year runner & believer of living a simple life, willing to share a little bit of my life with the world. Born in Germany, raised in the interior of British Columbia, and now living in Vancouver, BC. Welcome to my everyday!
Gallery | This entry was posted in My Habits. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Tuesday Confessions.

  1. So cute! I LOVE that Eat, Pray, Love quote. Makes me want to run off to Italy and eat a pizza. But so true, it’s certainly a different experience to savor food. I feel like I haven’t done a lot of savoring lately, thanks for the reminder! :)

  2. Megan says:

    I forgot all about that movie, it’s a good one!

  3. Brittany says:

    #5…YES! I am soooo done with chasing people and worrying about every little thing!! EFF DAT!
    #7…DOUBLE YES!! That is so beautiful and I feel like that is EXACTLy how food should be..it’s an art dammit! I also love that movie, but NEVER watched the end because I want to read the book and not have the end spoiled! I better get on that…HA!

    • Britta says:

      #5 is actually liberating – booooyah! hahaha you’re funny, hurry up and finish the book so you can watch the ending! ahh, I need to watch the movie again very soon. Along with Julie and Julia

  4. That eat, pray, love quote is my fave!!! And true enough, right? I’ve put on 5-8 pounds since August. Sometimes I freak about it but then other times I think whatever…I’m enjoying!
    I bet the HIIT class was AWESOME! I love that you’re trying these out!
    I love what you do at the market! I love making up stories about people I watch, too. (I don’t mean that as creepy as it sounds!) I also love the Granville Market.

    • Britta says:

      Don’t freak out about it – there is just more of you to love and thats wonderful! We have to enjoy. Nothing else to it!

      I’m loving all the classes and the market is amazing. I’m already having visions of us going for a run (when you’re in town visiting the fam) and then we’ll all go to the market for breaky and treats. Yes yes yes!

      • Um- yes and yes! I don’t go to Vancouver often since they come home all the time (both families live here). But next time we are most definitely going for a run and then to the market!

  5. I love all these… especially number 6 because one of my friends here in Richmond co-wrote it!!

  6. Eee I love markets! And that cookbook! And your blog!

  7. olivetorun says:

    Eat, Pray, Love is one of my favorites but it wasn’t until YESTERDAY that I now own it… Target $5 and SO worth that!

Leave a Reply

