Marathon Time!

GAH, IT’S HERE!

Seriously, how is it already May? Let’s just say this marathon weekend crept up awfully fast!

Just wanted to give you a quick post of how I am feeling.

Welp, still awfully anxious but oddly enough its more of a calm anxious. I really think I just want to get this bad boy over with! Nothing worse than waiting.

Honestly, my biggest concern is my right knee (ahem, repaired ACL & meniscus) and food. Ya’ll know this girl has a sensitive stomach – you never know how the ol’ bod will react on race day (*sigh*).

Anywho..

I still have a bit of a sore throat which I have been battling all week. It’s not too bad and I have been pumping my body full of goodies.

My special “sick” potion: Water, lemon juice, fresh ginger, turmeric, and honey. All boiled together and gulped down. You’re also supposed to add garlic, but I didn’t. Home girl had to work this week and be around people 24/7 so that wouldn’t have been a good scene ;)

P1070618

Along with vitamins and throat tinctures.

Breakfast of choice this week has been mainly oats with banana and peanut butter. Or the same combo on toast.

P1070619

Workout-wise: not a whole lot going on. I went to 2 spin classes this week but kept my effort fairly low and I went for a beauty walk with my friend, Karelia, around the seawall.

I don’t know if you know.. but it’s been about 25 degrees here for the past week!

IMG_9672IMG_9670

IMG_9668

I read this article on beet juice and it’s benefits with running so this morning I figured it couldn’t hurt, right?

IMG_9677

I went to MEC today and loaded up with race-day goodies. Bars, gels, chews, and oh so many electrolytes… and also a little pit stop at Whole Foods.. what else?

IMG_9680

I have been drinking Ener-C this entire week too.

Tomorrow I don’t have a whole lot planned. I’m going for breakfast with my big bro (yup, the fella came down for a visit and wouldn’t miss this!), then I will be off to pick up my race kit downtown, followed by a Whitecaps FC game, dinner with some good people, sleep, and then IT’S MARATHON TIME!!!

Gah, wish me luck! <3 See you guys on the flip side, have a wonderful weekend :)

This song is definitely on the playlist.

About Britta

I'm a 24 year runner & believer of living a simple life, willing to share a little bit of my life with the world. Born in Germany, raised in the interior of British Columbia, and now living in Vancouver, BC. Welcome to my everyday!
This entry was posted in My Habits and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Marathon Time!

  1. Best of luck, Britta! I’ll be thinking of you tomorrow morning! I know you’re going to do amazing!
    And what better way to celebrate your first marathon than running it in your new city you love so much :) please IG after!

    • Britta says:

      I will IG for sure!! Thank you for all of your support Abby!! Absolutely couldn’t do it without all of your training tips! Not gonna lie, you your blog inspired me to up the ante and run a marathon! :) xx

  2. Amalia says:

    Good luck girl! I will be thinking of you as I embark on my 8km adventure tomorrow. At least the weather won’t be 25 degrees on race day (although I wish it would be a bit warmer… I’m not a rain runner AT ALL!).

Leave a Reply

